Devotion

Standard

Shortly after Lent last year, I felt God pulling on my heart strings, saying, “Come away, my beloved” (Song of Solomon 8:14). I read an article in a Christian magazine that encouraged readers to “dig our wells deeper” in Him. It reminded me of this scripture:

Let your roots grow down into him, and let your lives be built on him. Then your faith will grow strong in the truth you were taught, and you will overflow with thankfulness. – Colossians 2:7 NLT

As much as I was drawn to digging my well deeper, I balked at the idea of doing another fast. I had grown weary during my Lent fast, and was eager to be DONE with fasting. God showed me through the course of my fast that although I was obedient in completing the fast I did it begrudgingly – not with a cheerful heart as He would have liked. I felt convicted. My devotion and prayer life had become stagnant and stale, and I was in needed of something new. God confirmed that it was time to “dig my well deeper in Him,” so I decided to fast from social media for 150 days. Yes, you read that correctly.  In place of surfing online, I chose to read and meditate on one Psalm per day. It was an amazing, eye-opening adventure that taught me a lot.

Prior to this fast, most of my quiet time generally incorporated only reading one or more devotions written by others. Great tools for sure! They usually include one or two scriptures followed by the words of a modern day author. I started to feel overwhelmed by the words of others and wanted to hear directly from God. I felt like God wanted me to focus more on his Word than what other people were saying about his Word. <—Click to tweet.

The greatest lesson I learned was that I don’t “need” a specific devotional written by someone else. If I seek Holy Spirit wisdom in prayer before I read, He will highlight passages to me and give me an understanding of the Word. I love that! I would never have grown in this way had I not done this fast, which is pretty cool.

I realized that over time as I read more and more scripture, I was able to recall it in moments of difficulty and use it aso to encourage others. My faith grew stronger & I grew stronger because I was standing on the truth of God’s Word. <—Click to tweet. I was filling my reservoir with the Word so that I could draw upon it on the hard days and in the difficult seasons. And for that I am truly thankful.

About stacynjeffries

Life is a collection of our stories, a collection of moments. I love to tell stories! I think that through storytelling, we get to share glimpses of our lives with each other, to see the world in the other person’s eyes. Through the laughter and the tears our stories offer encouragement and hope to others. This space was created so that I could share my stories of healing, redemption, living fully alive, and finding my voice again. I hope my words encourage you wherever you are on the path. I hope you laugh. I hope you cry. I hope you feel and come alive again. I hope you find your own path to redemption and healing. I hope you find your own voice for telling your stories and sharing your heart with the world. God is with you. God is for you. God sees you and He hears your prayers, and He bends down to listen.

Leave a Reply

