Hope for Every Season

Standard

3460403278_8e2cb549f8

The holiday season, full of expectancy and packed to the the brim with activities, can be a difficult time for those of us who are waiting on God to unite us with our forever families. During the year we wait with expectancy, sometimes quietly, but the waiting can become more challenging with Thanksgiving and Christmas upon us. We long to wake up to a house filled with family, laughter, and a readiness for adventure. If you’re in the waiting, this longing can make the pumpkin pie taste a little bittersweet. What does one do when they are waiting for what they are hoping for during yet another holiday season? Where is God in those moments of our holidays? God reminded me that His hand, His presence, is with us in every moment.

This Thanksgiving God has poured out His overwhelming love, friendship, and a sense of family over me. I prepared to open my home and give hospitality to others, yet I received far greater hospitality than I anticipated. God was in the great hospitality of a friend who made sure I had all that I needed while I was sick, and took care of Thanksgiving dinner prep without a single complaint. God showed up in the blessed gifts of a thoughtful friend who baked and delivered delicious treats for us. God showed up in the laughter, joy, and good counsel of dear friends around the table on Thanksgiving. I looked for Jesus in my week, and I found His love every day.

There is no doubt that God is found in the faces and actions of our loved ones, and I am so grateful for the amazing tribe (friend-family) with which God has blessed me. But after the pumpkin pie is consumed, and the guests return home, there is an even greater message that God wants us to know.

Today I hear God whisper that He is my hope for every season; He is my hope for everyday <===Click to Tweet. As I wait for my forever family, I am reminded that Jesus IS my forever family. Yes, I am believing for the promise of a family, but one day, my children will grow up and begin their own families and holiday traditions. God is the only one who will never leave my side – my One True Love, my Constant Companion. Whether we are in the waiting or reaping the harvest of the promises, we must hold onto Jesus and make Him the center of it all. Instead of holding so tightly to the hope that God has promised us, let us grab the hand of our God – who is our greatest Hope <===Click to Tweet. And I am thankful that I can have this Hope today and every day for the rest of my life.

Dear friend, wherever you are on the journey, I pray that you will allow Jesus to be the center of your heart and your Greatest Hope. Allow God to fill you up with all joy and peace that can only come from Him this holiday season. I pray that you will allow Him to be the constant, loving Companion that He so longs to be in your life – whether you are surrounded by many or by few, and especially if you feel alone. Lean into Him during the joyful and the difficult moments of the holiday season, and listen for His whispers of “I love you.” He is with you.

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. Romans 15:13 NIV.

Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for He who promised is faithful. Hebrews 10:23 NIV.

Photo Credit Compfight

About stacynjeffries

Life is a collection of our stories, a collection of moments. I love to tell stories! I think that through storytelling, we get to share glimpses of our lives with each other, to see the world in the other person’s eyes. Through the laughter and the tears our stories offer encouragement and hope to others. This space was created so that I could share my stories of healing, redemption, living fully alive, and finding my voice again. I hope my words encourage you wherever you are on the path. I hope you laugh. I hope you cry. I hope you feel and come alive again. I hope you find your own path to redemption and healing. I hope you find your own voice for telling your stories and sharing your heart with the world. God is with you. God is for you. God sees you and He hears your prayers, and He bends down to listen.

Leave a Reply

